Scholarship and Girls Career Institute
Information & Applications

2023 FWC Scholarship Program

The Franklin Woman's Club is proud to have awarded approximately $60,000 in college scholarships over the years to assist graduating female high school students with college expenses

The 2023 College Scholarship Application period is now closed. 

Please check back in the winter for the 2024 application materials.

2023 College Scholarship Application Criteria:

To be considered for the 2023 Franklin Woman's Club scholarship, the young woman MUST: 

(1) Reside in Franklin Township (Somerset County)

(2) Graduate high school Spring 2023

(3) Be accepted to a 2 or 4-year college  

Submission Process Options: 

You may submit your completed application to the Guidance Counselor at your school by Wednesday, March 22, 2023


You may submit your completed application by Regular Mail:  Franklin Woman's Club, P O Box 5793, Somerset, NJ 08875 - postmarked by Wednesday, March 22, 2023


You may submit your completed applications by Emailfranklinwomansclub@gmail.comPlease indicate FWC Scholarship in the subject line. Email your application no later than Friday, March 24, 2023.

Deadline: FWC must receive all application materials by Friday, March 24, 2023 via one of the methods above.

Application Materials:

2023 Scholarship Application - required

Media Release Form - required

Note: The scholarship check will be made out to the recipient's school of choice.

June 5-8, 2023 at Rutgers University, Douglass Campus

2023 Application Information

The 2023 GCI Application period is now closed. 

Please check back in the winter for the 2024 application materials.

The Franklin Woman's club sponsors high school junior girls who live in Franklin Township, Somerset County to attend Girls’ Career Institute (GCI), a program offered by the New Jersey State Federation of Women’s Clubs.  This program allows them to learn about potential careers while getting a taste of college life at Rutgers/Douglass. In this opportunity. Students must be able to stay overnight in dormitories. Eligible applicants must attend Franklin High School, Central Jersey College Prep Charter School or Thomas Edison Energy Smart Charter School.

Deadlines: (The 2023 application period has ended. Check back in December for information on the 2024 GCI)

  • Email: If you are submitting your application by email, the FWC must receive completed application materials by February 15, 2023.
  • Regular Mail: If you are submitting your application by mail, it must be postmarked by February 13, 2023 to ensure the application materials arrive on time.

Submission Process:

  • To submit by email: Completed applications may be sent to: Please indicate GCI in the subject line.
  • To submit via regular mail, send to:  Franklin Woman's Club, P O Box 5793, Somerset, NJ 08875. 

Links to Application Materials:

Application Form - required

Application Questions - required

Media Release Form - required

2023 CGI Flyer

Congratulations to Our 2023 Scholarship Recipients!

Samantha Gordon

Amanda Guitierez

Aastha Patel

Marilyn Vargas Rodriguez

Rebecca Russo

Taylor Repollet

Congratulations to Our 2022 Scholarship Recipients!

Taviyani Johnson

Lilyana Hopkins

Dhruvu Mehta

Jeevika Sivasubramon

Congratulations to Our 2021 Scholarship Recipients!

Casey Bonham

Emma N. Moley

Morgan Wheeler

Congratulations to Our 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Brianna Rao 

Rachelle Dubuisson 

Gabriela Delgado 

Sonia Dalal 

Lekha Gowder 

Janiah Fladger 

Afsheen Amed 

Ciara Dukes 

Eluwa Ihunaya 

Nicole Origenes 

Franklin Woman's Club Announces 2019 Scholarship Winners


(Left to Right): Nia Abdullah, Kayla Arrington, Nadia Asmah,  Jada Bethea, Anamaria Buchhan, Nisha Makwana,       Monet Murray, Madison Rowe and Kaitlyn Timari.

Two Generations of Scholarship Winners!

Pernethia Arrington (right) (nee, Penny Peoples), is pictured with her daughter and 2019 Scholarship Winner, Kayla Arrington.  Pernethia won the Franklin Woman's Club Scholarship in 1990!!

To request MORE INFORMATION please complete the form below or leave a message at (732) 844-9002.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.

Success Story

Josephine Reina (on right) stopped by the Franklin Woman's Club booth at Franklin Day on September 22, 2018, to thank club members for supporting her education with a 2006 Scholarship Award.  Ms. Reina graduated from Franklin High School in 2006 and from Towson University (Summa Cum Laude) in 2010.  In 2013, she graduated from the University of Baltimore School of Law (Magna Cum Laude). Ms. Reina currently works as an attorney at Malaby & Bradley LLC, in New York, NY.  She is shown here with Joanne Murset, Chair of the club's Tricky Tray Committee. The Franklin Woman's Club annual Tricky Tray raises funds for scholarship awards and other community giving, and will be held next on March 22, 2019.

Congratulations, Ms. Reina and may you have continued success in your career!

2018 Scholarship Awards Dedicated to the Memory of 
Kim Thorne, 2017-2018 
Franklin Woman's Club Co-President 

The Franklin Woman’s Club (FWC) is pleased to announce this year’s scholarship winners: Gabriella Consiglio, Anjana Nair, Karinna Rao, Sierra Schiff, Maitri Shah, Summer Thompson and Madison Whiting. This year, the club dedicated their scholarship awards to the memory of Kim Thorne, who served as the FWC Co-President for the 2017-2018 club year. Sadly, her service was cut short due to her unexpected death in October after a very brief illness. Prior to that, she served in several other club leadership positions, including the founding of its book club.  The FWC is proud that the scholarship award recipients share Kim’s values for education and volunteerism.

2018 Scholarship  Winners with 

Franklin Woman's Club Selection Committee

(Left to Right - Back Row) Selection Committee Members: Phyllis Beals, Joanne Murset, Sherice McQueen, Sheila Snell,  Nancy Gale and Sharon Coney

(Front Row)   Scholarship Winners: Anjana Nair, Maitri Shah, Madison Whiting, Sierra Schiff, Summer Thompson, Gabriella Consiglio and 

                                                                         Karinna Rao

2017 Scholarship Award Winners

Left to Right: 

Jamie Greene

Taylor Breen

Molly Swayne

Jodi Viaud (Franklin Woman’s Club Education Chair)

Jada Edwards

Heather Attanasio

2016 Scholarship Award Winners

Left to Right:  

Zahra Yusah

Caitlin Hibbard

Jennifer Dars

Angelina Frances

2015 Scholarship Award Winners

Left to Right: 

Stephanie Tu

Sheryl Dalal

Dana Slavick 

Monica Estillore

and  Alayna Fuller (not in photo)

2014 Scholarship Award Winners

Left to Right:

Neha Ashraf

Subona Panja 

Frances Reyes

Brooke Tooles

Alexandra Schmidt Cristina Canestri

Keana Mirmajlesi and Mackenzie Pitts (name order does not coincide with the photo).